Stuff For You To Read

Today the internet has been filled with useful articles for all makes and models of Christians. I normally try to send out a tweet with a good article when I read one, but today that would mean I would blow up twitter. Here are some of the best ones I have read today and I highly encourage you to take a gander at them when you get the chance.

1. This is from one of my favorite blogs, The Cripplegate, on why we as Christians should be more childlike. (Their series on Dates, Doctrine, and Dead People is quite informative as well.)

http://thecripplegate.com/becoming-like-children/#more-10930

2. This comes from a new blog by the Alliance of Confessing Evangelicals called The Christward Collective. Today’s post is by Joe Thorn and helps you identify the worst sinner you know.

http://www.christwardcollective.org/christward/worst-sinner-you-know#.UhOAfNLCaSp

3. The Dead Pastor’s Society offers up a post that depending on your church, you will either love or hate. While many are seeking to get away from denominational labels and just be “________ Church”, I agree with the thoughts in this post on why denominational identification is necessary. And also that we ought to pray for the unification of the (true) Church.

http://deadpastorssociety.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/in-favor-of-denominations/

4. This next one is for the pastors and parishioners both. It deals with both worship and preaching and how those two things are inseparable.  If you are a preacher and you do not preach expositionally you should. That isn’t just a statement to rile people up, it’s biblical, and Dr. Mohler explains why.

http://www.albertmohler.com/2013/08/19/expository-preaching-the-antidote-to-anemic-worship/

5. Number five was actually link to by a couple of my friends, and being a father of two boys it hit close to home. Could it be that our school system (as a whole, not the individual teachers. Especially the ones I know!) are trying to demasculinize our boys for being just that: boys?

http://ideas.time.com/2013/08/19/school-has-become-too-hostile-to-boys/

6. While tracking down the links to other posts, I ran across this one. Being married to a pastor’s wife, I see some of this, but realize that I am probably blind to much more. I need to pray for my wife obviously, but I also need to pray for her because she is a pastor’s wife, and that isn’t an easy task. You ought to pray for your pastor’s wife too! If you skip over the other posts, please make sure to read this one!

http://joemckeever.com/wp/pastors-wife-vulnerable-person-church/

7. The last one isn’t for your eyes, but for your ears. The group Beautiful Eulogy is getting ready to release their second album, Instruments of Mercy,  later this fall. Hopefully sooner rather than later. I enjoy their music not only for the beats, but for the dense theology that is packed within every song. Here is the video of their first single “Vital Lens”.

Here is the link to freely download their first album Satellite Kite.

As Elijah said to me after we did some reading this morning, “Ya know, reading makes you smarter!” Take his advice: read!

Wesley

Leave a comment